Tennessee Affiliate Broker Pre-Licensing How To Get a Real Estate License In TN
7 Steps Toward Getting Your Tennessee Affiliate Broker License
Getting your Tennessee real estate license might seem daunting, but we’re here to guide you
through the process.
Read on to learn about the seven steps you’ll need to complete before starting your career in Tennessee real estate. To learn about how much it costs to get your real estate license, visit our Tennessee Affiliate Broker Pre-Licensing pricing page.Buy your Tennessee Pre-Licensing »
- You must be at least 18 years of age.
- Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- If you have a felony or misdemeanor conviction involving theft of money, services, or property, you are ineligible unless 2 years have passed from incarceration, probation, parole, or conviction, whichever is later in time.
Complete 90 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.
Successfully complete 90 clock-hours of approved Pre-Licensing Affiliate Broker education. This includes two courses, the 60-Hour Basic Principles course and the 30-Hour New Affiliates course. Learn more about your package options here.
If you are a licensed attorney, have received a degree from a university with a major course of study in real estate, or have a current license in another jurisdiction and are seeking licensure in Tennessee, please see the Tennessee Real Estate Commission for education and examination requirements in detail for your specific situation.
Pass the course final exams.
After you complete all the course materials, there is a final exam for each course. The minimum passing score is 75%. The CE Shop will provide your eligibility to PSI to sit for the Tennessee Real Estate Affiliate Broker Licensing Examination.
Pass the Tennessee real estate affiliate broker exam.
PSI administers the Tennessee real estate affiliate broker licensing exam. Once PSI receives your eligibility to sit for the exam, you may schedule your exam with PSI.
Beginning February 24, 2021, PSI will be launching the option of remote proctoring for TN licensing candidates. Students can schedule their licensing exam here. Students will be able to take remote proctored exams starting February 25, 2021.
PSI has a dedicated number for TN candidates with questions about scheduling their exam
You will have six months to pass your exam. This 120 question test is comprised of 2 portions, covering both state and national requirements. There will be 80 national questions and 40 state questions, with a minimum passing score of 70%. For more information, see the PSI candidate information bulletin.
If you want help passing your Tennessee real estate exam, The CE Shop also offers comprehensive Exam Prep tailored to Tennessee.
Take application photo.
Upon successful completion of the examination, you should get your application photo taken at the testing center.
Complete fingerprint requirement.
Next, you must get fingerprinted by a private company contracted by the state for the purpose of a background check.
Obtain errors and omissions insurance.
You must provide proof that you have an errors and omissions insurance policy.
Complete the application.
Once all of the requirements have been met, you must complete your application online.